International Contemporary Art Prize
Diputació de Castelló

8 July 2011

18 September 2011

5x5Castelló2011. International Contemporary Art Prize Diputació de Castelló is an exhibition project conceived by Espai d’art contemporani de Castelló with a view to setting in place a dialogue between various generations of artists. To this end, the process of selection was paramount.
The selection was undertaken in three consecutive and interconnected stages designed to achieve this goal.

The first stage consist of contacting five seminal artists, who in turn were asked to draw up a list of five contemporary artists whose work they believed to be at the forefront of cutting-edge experimentation and creative risk-taking. For this edition of the international prize these five were: Ignasi Aballí, Marlene Dumas, Dora García, Pipilotti Rist and Ai Weiwei.

Once they accepted the challenge and compiled their respective lists, the second stage got underway and each one of the artists on the various lists were contacted. The criteria and intentions of the competition were explained to the twenty-five artists and they were told the name of the artist who had nominated them. With this information, each artist was then free to accept the invitation to take part in the competition with one of her/his works, the choice of which was left up to their own discretion.

The third stage consist in an exibition that will take place between July 8th and September 18th. The artists participating in this edition are: Bestué-Vives, Luz Broto, Andreas Fogarasi, Ryan Gander, Melissa Gordon, Nici Jost, Adrià Julià, Sonja Kretz, Mickry 3, Melvin Moti, Grace Ndiritu, Wilfredo Prieto, Jorge Satorre, Liang Shuo, Sophie Springer, Daniel Steegmann, Lucy Stein, Ana Strika, Esmé Valk, Sara van der Heide, Xia Xing, Wang Xingwei, Li Zhanyang, Zhao Zhao, Anna-Sabina Zürrer.

At once, the director of EACC announced the formation of a jury mainly comprising art critics and museum directors, commissioned with the task of deciding on the winner of the prize. The jury will take into account the principle of quality and excellence of the winning work.

Participating Artists
Decision of the Jury